Surviving Gloomy Days

Yesterday was a very rough day in the Coble household.  Yes, there are some real stressers in our house right now, Brandon job hunting and anticipating the arrival of a new baby in March.  These things, though, are nothing new, and nothing happened yesterday to make these stressers any more stressful than normal.  But yesterday I just had a complete melt down at the kitchen table.

I blame it on the weather.  Well, that’s not entirely true, I blame it on a fierce spiritual battle waging over my life, my family, my home.  And if there is one way Satan knows how to get me down, it’s through the weather.

I think this must stem from my Colorado upbringing, where it is almost the literal truth that it is sunny 360 days of the year.  When I was growing up, a day where it was cloudy ALL day was a bizarre occurrence.  Now that I’ve lived in some cloudy places, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Oregon, I realize what a luxury a sunny day can be.

A cheery, sunny day in the mountains of Colorado

We have been really spoiled here in Klamath Falls this winter as we have had almost straight sun since November.  But this week, all the cloudy weather that has been building up over the last two months, decided to descend on us, and with it, my mood also descended, and I find myself becoming easily depressed and anxious.

I can’t allow myself to just muddle around in my gloom, though.  It’s not a healthy way to live and it’s no fun for Brandon or Job.  So here is my game plan for getting moving.  Perhaps this will also be helpful to you if you struggle with depression brought on by gloomy weather.

1. Try to not focus on my depressed or anxious thoughts, rather remember that the faithful God I serve on sunny days is still faithful on dark days.  Also remember that my feelings aren’t necessarily true, just because I feel like a job is never going to come through for Brandon, that doesn’t mean it is true.  My hope has to be in God, not in feeling hopeful over jobs because the sun is shining.

2. Turn on the lights.  No, it might not be the best habit to get into when trying to conserve energy, but a few extra pennies spent on some extra light today are well worth spending.

3. Put on praise music.  The Bible says that God inhabits the praises of His people.

4. Make a to-do list.  Dreariness brings on a severe lack of motivation.  For me, making a detailed to-do list can help keep me from just vegging on the couch.

5. Eat chocolate.  No, I am not advocating adopting a food addiction to survive gloom, but creating a reward to work towards during the day helps bring a little bit of cheer back into the gray skies!

6. Go to the gym.  Nothing like some extra endorphins to keep me moving, and hopefully keep some of this baby weight off…

There’s my plan!  Since the forecast is calling for rain and snow for at least the next week, I’m hoping my plan will serve me well.  Hope you have a cheery day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surviving Gloomy Days

  1. Janet A. says:

    Dear Laura, Your hormones are surging with your pregnancy so,don’t beat yourself up over having the blues. Treat yourself to a leisurely bubble bath or savor a favorite sweet (ONCE) or have Brandon rub your feet and paint your toenails. You’re a special lady!

  2. Michelle says:

    Oh dearest Laura. I totaly get those feelings. I like the chocolate idea! I think the thing I miss the most about Florida is the sun.

  3. marilyn moll says:

    Great game plan Laura – just getting a blog written up on a gloomy day is a huge accomplishment. Thanks for the reminder that God inhabits the praises of his people.

  4. Natalie says:

    I know how those days go, and have to agree the pregnancy hormones don’t help at all! On those days I’d see if Brandon could stay with Job an hour or so and you could go to a coffee shop and have a Chai and read or have a good quiet time! Scott does this for me occasionally and it makes me feel so much better! :o) Remember, Brandon is there to help you and be there for you, and I know he’s an amazing hubby so he would totally do it! Or take advantage of Brandon not working and enjoy fun family day today! :o) Love you and will be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

