Exploding Diapers and God

I know that every mom has dealt with her fair share of diaper blowouts, or as we like to call them in our home, exploding diapers.  I’ve begun to expect that every poopy diaper Job has will end up being an exploding diaper.  Partly because I buy cheap diapers, and partly because he seems to like saving up his bodily waste and then release it every few days instead of every day.  Some exploding diapers are worse than others, some are just a little messy, and some are extremely icky, sticky messes.

The other day Brandon and I encountered an exploding diaper that was far worse than any other we had experienced.  It all happened on a dark and stormy night when rain was whipping around our house….

Just kidding.  It actually happened in the movie theater because, of course, babies always choose the most convenient of places to create a mess.  Brandon and I were at the new Narnia movie with my family over Christmas, and about half way through the movie, Job let it rip.  I was bouncing him in my lap when a rumble came from his bum, and I knew that this diaper was going to be a doozie.  Not only did Job chose a convenient place and time to have poo ooze from his diaper, but I had left the diaper bag in the car, assuming that since he had just had a fresh diaper before the movie, there was no need to bring the bag in with me.

Brandon accompanied me to the hallway where he held Job while I retrieved the diaper bag.  When I returned, Brandon offered to change the diaper (what a brave soul!).  Reluctant to turn down an offer to have a diaper changed for me I agreed, but I was a bit worried if Brandon would return unscathed from the ominous odor emanating from Job’s bottom, so I offered to help him.  Together we entered the family bathroom and laid Job down on the changing table.

Up until now Job was a happy camper and rather than being upset by the icky, sticky goo, he was relishing in having both parent’s attention at the same time.  Unfortunately, though, Job’s exploding diaper had exploded so badly that poo had not just oozed out of his diaper, but had smeared all over his bum and back side, and we were forced to strip Job of all his clothing to clean him up.  Since changing tables are unheated, and in fact, rather cold, the plastic table was quite a shock to Job who had been snug and warm in his little blue overalls.  Job’s happy demeanor quickly faded into unabashed screaming.

Brandon and I frantically tried to quickly clean him up.  Our wipes were also cold since they had been out in the car, and the combination of cold changing table AND cold wipes was just too much.  I don’t think that I have ever heard Job cry so loudly!  I began to worry that we would be turned in for child abuse as I’m sure Job’s screams were heard down the hallway and in the food court.

However, I couldn’t help but to find the situation a little humorous.  Job was crying so miserably when we, his parents, were only trying to make things better for him.  While he didn’t seem to mind being covered in poop, he would not have enjoyed it for long, and it certainly would not have been healthy for him.  We could have left him in his condition, but he wouldn’t have been happy or healthy in the long run.  As cruel as the situation was, our efforts to cleanse him were for his own good.

That was when I had a “God-moment.”  In the midst of Job’s wails and poopy mess, I realized that this is probably how I react to God when He tries to clean me up.  When I go through a trial, I cry, and moan, and wonder why in the world God would make me suffer.  But I am not suffering in vain.  God is changing me so that I will be a happier and healthier person for the long run. Just as Brandon and I were taking care of Job the whole time he was being changed, so God is taking care of us the whole time He is changing us.

After we finished changing Job we proceeded to finish watching our movie.  Thankfully, we did not get turned in for child abuse.  Job even survived the whole ordeal, probably because after being changed he was held by Gramma, Gramma’s know how to make everything all better!  I guess kind of like our trials, they do not last forever, and once they are over, God gives us a time of peace.

I know that many of you are going through your own trials.  If there is a way I can pray for you, please send me a message.  There is a wonderful lady I work with who is very giving.  Every time she gives me a gift I say “Sally, you are so sweet, thank you!”  and she just shrugs her shoulders and says “we must take care of one another!”.  Please feel free to share your request, via email, facebook message, or text, because we must take care of one another.

James 1:3-4

“…knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience.  But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.”

This entry was posted in daily living, personal thoughts, spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Exploding Diapers and God

  1. What a great way to think of things! Never made that connection myself, but so true. Just thinking of you guys trying to change that mess is hilarious! Been there done that! Hope you are doing well, hes getting so big!

  2. Elisabeth says:

    So funny! I pull back my sleeves and place those icicle wipes on my arm to warm them. Did it so much last year that my skin got rough and dry.

  3. Shawna says:

    I love your story, Laura, and especially the parallel at the end! Very true of our own spiritual lives. Never thought about it that way. I don’t have kids, but I’m getting my share of diapers at work. The kids I work with have to have laxatives, and one is fed a special formula through a feeding tube, so all her diapers end up….exploding. I use gloves when I change her diaper! 😉 It is certainly character building!

  4. Michelle Brill says:

    Thank you for that. I don’t think I will ever not be able to think of your “God-moment” when changing an explosion.

Leave a Reply

